Hushang Moradi Kermani among ALMA nominees again

TEHRAN – Writer Hushang Moradi Kermani, whose works mainly feature child protagonists from poor and disadvantaged families, has been nominated for the 2022 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Prize (ALMA).

Moradi Kermani, who has already been nominated for the prestigious Swedish honor more than five times, received the new nomination from the Iranian Institute for Research on the History of Children’s Literature.

“This institute nominated Hushang Moradi Kermani again for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award in 2022, because it considers him a writer who has added a lot to reading in our society,” the institute said in a press release on Thursday. .

“By creating stories about children from disadvantaged families and lower classes, from children in carpet weaving workshops to those living in villages on the fringes of deserts, Moradi Kermani tried to be a voice echoing their voices. pains and needs, ”he added.

The institute said that Moradi Kermani’s works have more than ever led Iranian society to reading. His works benefit from factors such as durability, an emphasis on human values, a strong influence on children and the ability to be translated, which encourage all people to read.

Moradi Kermani is best known as a children’s writer, but his works appeal to adults as well.

He is the author of many bestsellers such as “You’re No Stranger Here”, “The Water Urn” and “A Sweet Jam”.

Most of his works have been translated into English, German, French, Spanish, Dutch, Arabic, Armenian, Turkish and several other languages.

The Research Institute for the History of Children’s Literature, the Iranian Association of Childhood and Youth Writers and the Institute for the Intellectual Development of Children and Young Adults are authorized to select the Iranian candidates for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

They have previously named authors Fereidun Amuzadeh-Khalili, Jamshid Khanian, Hamidreza Shahabadi and Mohammadreza Shams, and reading promoters Abdolhakim Bahar, Shahla Eftekhari and Ali-Asghar Seidabadi, as well as the mobile library and Read With Me program of the organization for ALMA 2022.

The winner will be announced on March 22, 2022.

The award was established by the Swedish National Council for Cultural Affairs in 2002 to commemorate Swedish writer Astrid Lindgren and to promote children’s and young people’s literature around the world.

It is the largest prize in the world for literature for children and adolescents, and the second largest prize for literature in the world.

The prize, SEK 5 million in cash, is awarded to one or more recipients, including authors, illustrators, storytellers and promoters of reading.

Photo: Writer Hushang Moradi Kermani in an undated photo.


About Norma Wade

Check Also

🌱 311 Cincy Launches + Students’ ‘I Need Box’ Goes Viral

Hello Cincinnati. I’m here in your inbox this morning to tell you everything you need …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.